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Property taxes- a burden for many Kansans-

Sadly, we have reached the midway point of the 2024 legislative session and our legislators have not acted to reduce
property taxes in Kansas. After several years of hearing the tremendous impact of these taxes, with their seemingly
endless yearly spikes, it was my hope that the legislature would act to cap property tax increases. Kansas is
becoming a high tax state and many of our fellow citizens are concerned that they and thelr families may eventually
be forced to sell their homes and leave the state based on the taxes alone.

We have met together five times with local citizens in meetings of the Property Tax Task Force locally and the group
identified ways for property taxes to be reduced both on the local level and also on the state level. SCR1611 the 4%
cap on property taxes was approved in the Kansas Senate last year and is awaiting both a hearing and a vote in the
Kansas House of Representatives. They can advance the constitutional amendment to the voters if they get a 2/3
vote of the members, unfortunately to this point there has been no hearing or vote. The Local Ad Valorem Tax
(LAVTR) funding, which sends sales tax monies back to local government to help off-set property taxes, awaits action
by the legislature as well. This along with many other proposals on taxes, some of which would exempt disabled
veterans and require averaging of valuation over a period of years to set tax rates are languishing in Topeka.

Because of this inaction and the real possibility that little is going to happen this year, | want to review the current
property tax relief legislation that is in place that could be a help to many citizens.

The Homestead refund:

The Homestead refund is a rebate program for the property taxes paid by homeowners prior to January 1 2023. The
refund is based on a portion of the property tax-paid on a Kansas resident’s homestead. If you own your home, the
refund is a percentage of your general property tax. The maximum refund is $700. This refund program is not
available to renters.

Who qualifies?

To qualify you must be a Kansas resident, living in Kansas the entire year. Your total household income must be
$40,500 or less. You must also meet one of the following requirements:

* Born before January 1, 1969, OR
* You must have been totally disabled or blind during the entire year, regardless of your age, OR

* You must have had a dependent child living with you all of last year who was born before January 1, 2023, and was
under the age of 18 the entire year.



Safe Senior- Kansas property tax relief for low-income seniors

The Safe Senior Refund is a property tax refund program administered under the provisions of the Kansas
Homestead Act (Property Tax Refund). Safe Senior is also referred to as, “Kansas Property Tax Relief for Low Income
Seniors”. The refund is up to 75% of the 2023 general property tax paid or to be paid on the 2023 real estate tax
statement for the residence in which the claimant lived in 2023.

Who qualifies?

To qualify a claimant must meet all of the following requirements for the Safe Senior Refund:
* Owned a home and resided in Kansas all of 2023.

* Aged 65 years or older for all of 2023 (born before January 1, 1959) and

* House hold income $23,700 or less in 2023

* Property taxes cannot be delinquent

Senior and Disabled Veterans Property Tax Refund (SVR Homestead)

Who qualifies?
* Total household income must be $53,600 or LESS, AND
* You must be over the age of 65 or older all of 2023, OR

* You were a disabled veteran 50% or more military disability, disabled in the line of duty and honorable
discharge, OR

* You were a surviving spouse of a disabled veteran receiving the SVR and who was NOT remarried OR
* You were a surviving spouse of person 65 or older receiving the SVR and who was NOT remarried

Please note that these programs are on the books and in statute available right now. If you need any help with
understanding the process please don’t hesitate to reach out to my office. Once again, we continue to hope the
legislature will act to bring true reform to our property tax and valuation system in Kansas. If you have any questions
please email me a mstieben@leavenworthcounty.gov or call 913-775-2772.

Cordially yours,

Mike Stieben
Leavenworth County Commissioner



